Banner
Faculty

Faculty Office Hours are found on the CS FAQ

Jan Allbeck

Assistant Professor

OfficeEngineering 5324
Phone703-993-1794
Emailjallbeckblah@gmu.edu
Webcs.gmu.edu/~jallbeck/  
Ph.D., University of Pennsylvania, 2009

Computer Graphics, Animation, Artificial Intelligence, Psychology, Game Design, Crowd Simulation

Paul Ammann

Associate Professor

OfficeEngineering 4428
Phone703-993-1660
Emailpammannblah@gmu.edu
Webcs.gmu.edu/~pammann/  
Ph.D., University of Virginia, 1988

Software Testing, Fault Tolerance, Reliability, Formal Methods for Secure Information

Hakan Aydın

Associate Professor

OfficeEngineering 5308
Phone703-993-3786
Emailaydinblah@cs.gmu.edu
Webcs.gmu.edu/~aydin/  
Ph.D., University of Pittsburgh, 2001

Real-Time Systems, Power-aware Computing, Fault Tolerance

Daniel Barbará

Professor

OfficeEngineering 4420
Phone703-993-1627
Emaildbarbarablah@gmu.edu
Webcs.gmu.edu/~dbarbara/  
Ph.D., Princeton University, 1985

Data Mining, Machine Learning, and their Applications

Alex Brodsky

Associate Professor

OfficeEngineering 4418
Phone703-993-1529
Emailbrodskyblah@gmu.edu
Webcs.gmu.edu/~brodsky/  
Ph.D., Hebrew Uniersity of Jerusalem, 1991

Decision Support, Guidance and Optimization (DSGO) Systems; DSGO Applications, including Energy, Power, and Sustainability; Constraints in Databases and Secure Information Systems

Richard Carver

Associate Professor

OfficeEngineering 5318
Phone703-993-1550
Emailrcarverblah@cs.gmu.edu
Webcs.gmu.edu/~rcarver/  
Ph.D., North Carloina State University, 1989

Specification, Verification, and Testing of Concurrent Programs

Jim X. Chen

Professor

OfficeEngineering 4446
Phone703-993-1720
Emailjchenblah@cs.gmu.edu
Webcs.gmu.edu/~jchen/  
Ph.D., University of Central Florida, 1995

Computer Graphics, Visualization, Simulation, Virtual Reality, Networks, Distributed Interactive Simulation, Networked Virtual Environment

Songqing Chen

Associate Professor

OfficeEngineering 5319
Phone703-993-3176
Emailsqchenblah@cs.gmu.edu
Webcs.gmu.edu/~sqchen/  
Ph.D., College of William and Mary, 2004

Internet Content Delivery Systems, Internet Measurement and Modeling, Operating Systems and System Security, and Distributed Systems and High Performance Computing

Kenneth De Jong

University Professor

OfficeEngineering 4452
Phone703-993-1553
Emailkdejongblah@cs.gmu.edu
Webcs.gmu.edu/~kdejong/  
Ph.D., University of Michigan, 1975

Genetic Algorithms, Evolutionary Computation, Machine Learning, Adaptive Systems

Kinga Dobolyi

Term Assistant Professor

OfficeEngineering 4440
Phone703-993-4198
Emailkdobolyiblah@gmu.edu
Webcs.gmu.edu/~kdobolyi/  
Ph.D., University of Virginia, 2010

Software Testing, Web Applications, Software Engineering

Carlotta Domeniconi

Associate Professor

OfficeEngineering 4424
Phone703-993-1697
Emailcarlottablah@cs.gmu.edu
Webcs.gmu.edu/~carlotta/  
Ph.D., University of California Riverside, 2002

Machine Learning, Data Mining, Pattern recognition, Classification, Clustering, Feature Relevance Estimation, Text Mining, Bioinformatics

Zoran Durić

Associate Professor

OfficeEngineering 4443
Phone703-993-1717
Emailzduricblah@cs.gmu.edu
Webcs.gmu.edu/~zduric/  
Ph.D. University of Maryland, 1995

Computer Vision, Video Image Processing, Human-Computer Interaction, Vision Based Control, Physics-Based Modeling

Yotam Gingold

Assistant Professor

OfficeEngineering 4427
Phone703-993-9196
Emailygingoldblah@cs.gmu.edu
Webcs.gmu.edu/~ygingold/  
Ph.D., New York University, 2009

Geometric Modeling, Creative Tools, Interaction, Human Computation, Topology for Computation, Game Design

Hassan Gomaa

Professor

OfficeEngineering 4417
Phone703-993-1652
Emailhgomaablah@gmu.edu
Webmason.gmu.edu/~hgomaa/  
Ph.D., Imperial College, London University, 1976

Software Engineering, Real-Time and Distributed Software Design, Software Product Line Architectures, Software Performance Engineering, Software Agents

Chris Kauffman

Term Assistant Professor

OfficeEngineering 5341
Phone703-993-5194
Emailkauffmanblah@cs.gmu.edu
Webcs.gmu.edu/~kauffman/  
Ph.D., University of Minnesota, 2013

Bioinformatics, Machine Learning, Protein Structure Prediction

Larry Kerschberg

Professor

OfficeEngineering 4412
Phone703-993-1661
Emailkerschblah@gmu.edu
Webmason.gmu.edu/~kersch/  
Ph.D., Case Western Reserve University, 1969

Intelligent Search, E-Business, Agent-Based Systems, The Semantic Web

Jana Košecká

Associate Professor

OfficeEngineering 4444
Phone703-993-1876
Emailkoseckablah@cs.gmu.edu
Webcs.gmu.edu/~kosecka/  
Ph.D. University of Pennsylvania, 1996

Computer Vision, Robotics, Robot Perception and Control, Machine Learning, Image Based Rendering

Fei Li

Associate Professor

OfficeEngineering 5326
Phone703-993-1540
Emaillifeiblah@cs.gmu.edu
Webcs.gmu.edu/~lifei/  
Ph.D., Columbia University, 2008

Online and Randomized Algorithms, Approximation Algorithms, Combinatorial Optimization, Algorithmic Support for Operating Systems and Networks.

Jyh-Ming Lien

Associate Professor

OfficeEngineering 4442
Phone703-993-9546
Emailjmlienblah@cs.gmu.edu
Webcs.gmu.edu/~jmlien/  
Ph.D., Texas A&M University, 2006

Computational Geometry, Multiagent Systems, Motion Planning, Computer Graphics

Jessica Lin

Associate Professor

OfficeEngineering 4419
Phone703-993-4693
Emailjessicablah@cs.gmu.edu
Webcs.gmu.edu/~jessica/  
Ph.D., University of California Riverside, 2005

Data Mining, Machine Learning, Time Series and Spatiotemporal Pattern Discovery, Visualization, and Anomaly Detection

Sean Luke

Associate Professor

OfficeEngineering 4451
Phone703-993-4169
Emailseanblah@cs.gmu.edu
Webcs.gmu.edu/~sean/  
Ph.D., University of Maryland, College Park, 2000

Evolutionary Computation, Multiagent Systems, Distributed Knowledge Representation, Robotics, and Virtual Biology

Tamara Maddox

Term Associate Professor

OfficeEngineering 5347
Phone703-993-1525
Emailtmaddoxblah@cs.gmu.edu
Webcs.gmu.edu/~tmaddox/  
J.D., College of William and Mary, 1991

Intellectual Property, Artificial Intelligence, Computer Law and Ethics

Sam Malek

Associate Professor

OfficeEngineering 4431
Phone703-993-1677
Emailsmalekblah@gmu.edu
Webcs.gmu.edu/~smalek/  
Ph.D., University of Southern California, 2007

Architecture-based Software Development and Deployment, Embedded and Distributed Systems, Middleware Solutions, Quality of Service Analysis

Damon McCoy

Assistant Professor

OfficeEngineering 5328
Phone703-993-3339
Emailmccoyblah@cs.gmu.edu
Webcs.gmu.edu/~mccoy/  
Ph.D., University of Colorado, Boulder, 2009

E-Crime, Censorship Resistant Systems, Wireless Security, Embedded Security, Privacy and Anonymity

Daniel Menascé

University Professor

OfficeEngineering 5307
Phone70393-1537
Emailmenasceblah@gmu.edu
Webcs.gmu.edu/faculty/menasce.html  
Ph.D., University of California, Los Angeles, 1978

Autonomic Computing, E-commerce, Scalability and Reliability of Web Services and E-commerce Sites, Analytic Performance Modeling, Software Performance Engineering, Distributed Systems

Amihai Motro

Professor

OfficeEngineering 4415
Phone703993-1665
Emailamiblah@gmu.edu
Webcs.gmu.edu/~ami/  
Ph.D., University of Pennsylvania, 1981

User Interfaces to Databases, Uncertainty Management in Information Systems, Integrity and Security of Databases, Multiple Database Environments

David Nordstrom

Term Associate Professor

OfficeEngineering 5345
Phone703-993-1565
Emaildnordstrblah@gmu.edu
Webcs.gmu.edu/~dnord/  
Ph.D. University of California, Berkeley, 1976

Computer Security, Programming Languages

Jeff Offutt

Professor

OfficeEngineering 4430
Phone703-993-1654
Emailoffuttblah@gmu.edu
Webcs.gmu.edu/~offutt/  
Ph.D., Georgia Tech, 1988

Software Testing and Analysis, Web Software Engineering, Software evolution and Change-impact Analysis

J. Mark Pullen

Professor

OfficeEngineering 4455
Phone703-993-1538
Emailmpullenblah@netlab.gmu.edu
Webnetlab.gmu.edu/mpullen/  
D.Sc., George Washington University, 1981

Networks and Distributed Applications, Distributed Education and Training

Huzefa Rangwala

Assistant Professor

OfficeEngineering 4423
Phone703-993-3826
Emailrangwalablah@cs.gmu.edu
Webcs.gmu.edu/~hrangwal/  
Ph.D., University of Minnesota, Twin Cities, 2008

Structural Bioinformatics, Chemoinformatics, Genomics, Data Mining, High Performance Computing.

Dana Richards

Associate Professor

OfficeEngineering 5320
Phone703-993-1545
Emailrichardsblah@cs.gmu.edu
Webcs.gmu.edu/~richards/  
Ph.D., University of Illinois, 1984

Comparisons of Protein Sequences, Steiner Tree Algorithms, Information Dissemination in Networks, Parallel Algorithms for Median Filters

Sanjeev Setia

Professor and Chair

OfficeEngineering 4300
Phone703-993-4098
Emailsetiablah@gmu.edu
Webcs.gmu.edu/~setia/  
Ph.D., University of Maryland, 1993

Network Security, Ad hoc Networks, Wireless Sensor Networks, Peer-to-Peer Computing, High Performance Computing, Middleware, Performance evaluation of Computer Systems

Amarda Shehu

Assistant Professor

OfficeEngineering 4422
Phone703-993-4135
Emailamardablah@cs.gmu.edu
Webcs.gmu.edu/~ashehu/  
Ph.D., Rice University, 2008

Computational Biology; Bioinformatics and Biophysics; Macromolecular Structure, Dynamics, and Function; Simulation; Stochastic Optimization; Sampling-based Robot Motion Planning; Discrete and Continuous Search

Robert Simon

Associate Professor

OfficeEngineering 5322
Phone703-993-1556
Emailsimonblah@cs.gmu.edu
Webcs.gmu.edu/~simon/  
Ph.D., University of Pittsburgh, 1996

Computer Networks, Distributed Multimedia and Real-time Systems, Computer-Supported Cooperative Work, Performance Modeling and Simulation, Multimedia Databases and Video-on-Demand Systems

Mark Snyder

Term Assistant Professor

OfficeEngineering 5346
Phone703-993-5624
Emailmarksblah@cs.gmu.edu
Webcs.gmu.edu/~marks/  
Ph.D., University of Kansas, 2011

Language interpretation, Type-driven language specification, Language semantics, Type systems, Domain specific languages, Compilation and systems level design.

Arun Sood

Professor

OfficeEngineering 5327
Phone703-993-1524
Emailasoodblah@gmu.edu
Webcs.gmu.edu/~asood/  
Ph.D., Carnegie Mellon University, 1971

Image and Multimedia Computing, Distributed Systems, Security Architectures

Avinash Srinivasan

Term Assistant Professor

OfficeEngineering 5337
Phone703-993-1773
Emailasriniv5blah@gmu.edu
Webcs.gmu.edu/~asriniv5/  
Ph.D., Florida Atlantic University, 2008

Network Security and Forensics, Forensic Data Carving, Multimedia Security, Password Cracking and Strengthening, Distributed Security, iOS Vulnerability Analysis, Malware Attack Vectors

Angelos Stavrou

Associate Professor

OfficeEngineering 5332
Phone703-993-3772
Emailastavroublah@cs.gmu.edu
Webcs.gmu.edu/~astavrou/  
Ph.D., Columbia University, 2007

Large Systems Security and Survivability, Secure Peer-to-Peer and Overlay Networking, Distributed Systems Reliability, Fairness and Statistical Inference, and Privacy and Anonymity

Gheorghe Tecuci

Professor

OfficeEngineering 4613
Phone703-993-1722
Emailtecuciblah@gmu.edu
Weblac.gmu.edu/members/tecuci.htm  
Ph.D., University of Paris-South, 1988, Ph.D., Polytechnic Institute of Bucharest, 1988

Artificial Intelligence, Knowledge Engineering, Machine Learning, Knowledge Acquisition, Evidence-based Reasoning, Semantic Web, Cognitive Assistants, Expert Systems, Intelligent Tutoring Systems

Pearl Wang

Associate Professor and Associate Chair

OfficeEngineering 4304
Phone703-993-1527
Emailpwangblah@cs.gmu.edu
Webcs.gmu.edu/~pwang/  
Ph.D., University of Wisconsin, 1983

Parallel and Distributed Computing

Xinyuan (Frank) Wang

Associate Professor

OfficeEngineering 5331
Phone703-993-9461
Emailxwangcblah@gmu.edu
Webcs.gmu.edu/~xwangc/  
Ph.D., North Carolina State University, 2004

Computer Network and System Security, including Malware Analysis and Defense, Attack Attribution, Privacy and Anonymity, VoIP Security, Steganography, and Digital Forensics

Harry Wechsler

Professor

OfficeEngineering 4448
Phone703-993-1533
Emailwechslerblah@cs.gmu.edu
Webcs.gmu.edu/~wechsler/  
Ph.D., University of California, Irvine, 1975

Biometrics, Computer Vision and Image Analysis, Data Mining, Identity Management, Machine Learning, Pattern Recognition, Performance Evaluation, Security and Privacy

Elizabeth White

Associate Professor

OfficeEngineering 5315
Phone703-993-1586
Emailwhiteblah@cs.gmu.edu
Webcs.gmu.edu/~white/  
Ph.D., University of Maryland, 1995

Software Architecture, Middleware, Distributed Computing, Interoperability, Dynamic Reconfiguration

Duminda Wijesekera

Professor

OfficeEngineering 5333
Phone703-993-1578
Emaildwijesekblah@gmu.edu
Webcs.gmu.edu/~duminda/  
Ph.D., Cornell University (Logic), 1990, Ph.D., University of Minnesota (Computer Science), 1998

Security, Multimedia, Networks, Control and Signalling, Logic



Affiliated Faculty

Houman Homayoun

Assistant Professor, Dept. Electrical and Computer Engineering

OfficeEngineering 3223
Phone703-993-5430
Emailhhomayoublah@gmu.edu
Webece.gmu.edu/~hhomayou/  
Ph.D., University of California, Irvine, 2010

Computer Architecture, Green Computing, Reconfigurable Computing, 3D Design, Embedded Systems

Qi Wei

Assistant Professor, Dept. Bioengineering

OfficeEngineering 5348
Phone703-993-5211
Emailqwei2blah@gmu.edu
Ph.D., Computer Science, Rutgers University, 2010

Biomechanical Modeling and Simulation, Eye Movement, Medical Imaging, Computer Graphics



Emeritus Faculty

Henry Hamburger

Professor Emeritus

Webcs.gmu.edu/~henryh/  
Ph.D., University of Michigan, 1971

Intelligent Tutoring Systems

David Rine

Professor Emeritus

Webmason.gmu.edu/~drine/  
Ph.D., University of Iowa, 1970

Software Engineering, Software Maintenance and Reuse, Object Technology

Edgar Sibley

University Professor Emeritus

Webmason.gmu.edu/~esibley/  
Sc.D., Massachusetts Institute of Technology, 1967

Information Systems Policy, Organizational Informatics