Computer Science faculty have been recognized by their peers and by the profession for their outstanding work.

Lifetime Achievement Awards

Kenneth Dejong

IEEE 2005 Evolutionary Computation Pioneer Award, to recognize significant contributions to early concepts and developments in the field of evolutionary computation

Daniel Menascé

2001 A. A. Michelson award from the Computer Measurement Group, a lifetime achievement award given in recognition of outstanding contributions to computer metrics. 

2017 Outstanding Faculty Award from the State Council of Higher Education of Virginia (SCHEV) for excellence in research, teaching, knowledge integration, and public service.

Gheorghe Tecuci

U.S. Army Outstanding Civilian Service Medal, for groundbreaking contributions to the application of artificial intelligence to center of gravity determination.


Kenneth DeJong
  • Senior Fellow, International Society for Genetic and Evolutionary Computation, 2002
Daniel Menascé
  • ACM Fellow for fundamental contributions to education and practice of computer networks and performance evaluation, and material contributions to the establishment of a strong computing industry in Brazil, 1997
  • IEEE Fellow for contributions to research and education in performance evaluation of computer systems, 2014
Mark J. Pullen
  • Elected Fellow of the IEEE for technical leadership in computing systems and networking
  • Elected Fellow of the ACM for contributions to information technology in transitioning the Internet from a Federal research project to commercial availability, and development of Internet distance education technologies
Gheorghe Tecuci
  • Full Member, Romanian Academy, 1993
Harry Wechsler
  • Fellow, IEEE, 1993
  • Fellow, International Association for Pattern Recognition, 1998

National Science Foundation (NSF) CAREER Awards

The Faculty Early Career Development (CAREER) Program is a National Science Foundation activity that offers the NSF's most prestigious awards to early career-development activities of teacher-scholars who integrate research and education within the context of the mission of their organization.

Hakan Aydin "A Holistic Energy Management Framework for Real-Time Embedded Systems," 2006
Alexander Brodsky "Constraint Databases: Space, Time and Combinatorial Optimization," 1998
Songqing Chen "Internet Resource Management to Deliver High Quality Live and On-Demand Streaming for Wireless Clients," 2008
Carlotta Domeniconi "Learning Local Feature Relevance for Pattern Classification and Clustering," 2005
Yotam Gingold "Direct Manipulation of Numerical Optimization for Structured Geometry Creation," 2015
Jana Kosecka "Geometric and Appearance Based Methods for Model Acquisition," 2003
Sam Malek "A Mining‐Based Approach for Consistent and Timely Adaptation of Component‐Based Software," 2013
Huzefa Rangwala "Annotating the Microbiome Using Machine Learning Methods," 2013
Amarda Shehu "Probabilistic Methods for Addressing Complexity and Constraints in Protein Systems," 2012
Xinyuan (Frank) Wang "Malware Immunization and Forensics Based on Another Sense of Self," 2009
Liz White "General Support for Dynamic Reconfiguration," 1996

Airforce Office of Scientific Research (AFOSR) Young Investigator Program 

The objective of the YIP is to foster creative basic research in science and engineering; enhance early career development of outstanding young investigators; and increase opportunities for the young investigator to recognize the Air Force mission and related challenges in science and engineering.

Songqing Chen "Self Detecting Stealthy Malware on your Host", 2009

Mason Emerging Researcher, Scholar, Creator Award

Each year, Mason selects three faculty members from across the university who show exceptional promise in their disciplines to receive the Mason Emerging Researcher, Scholar, Creator Award.

Jyh-Ming Lien 2015-2016
Amarda Shehu 2014-2015
Huzefa Rangwala 2014-2015
Sam Malek 2013-2014
Angelos Stavrou 2012-2013
Songqing Chen 2009-2010
Carlotta Domeniconi 2008-2009

Mason Teaching Excellence Award Winners

This is an annual university-wide award for excellence in teaching. 

Amarda Shehu 2018
Chris Kauffman 2017
Yotam Gingold 2017
Kinga Dobolyi 2016
Mark Snyder 2016
Sean Luke 2015
Huzefa Rangwala 2014
Jeff Offutt 2013
Tamara Maddox 2012
Daniel Menasce 2000

Mason OSCAR Mentor Award Winners

This is an annual university-wide award for excellence in undergraduate research mentorship. 

Huzefa Rangwala 2018
Amarda Shehu 2013